Trying something new


I was listening to Celebrity Masterchef 2013 (UK) while working yesterday, and I desperately needed to make something eatable for dinner.

I had no idea what to make, and thought about absolutely every savoury thing that would make my mouth water. I stumbled across a pie-base where I only had to add water and butter. I’ve never made pie before, and although I really wanted to make everything myself, I didn’t know how to make the crust dough from scratch.

This was fairly easy to do, and I think it tastes good.

Recipe bacon-asparagus-broccoli-pie
Preheat oven to 200*C

Crust
Mix, suitable for form 26-28 cm

Bake for 5 minutes

Filling
Asparagus
Broccoli
Spinach
Champignon
Bacon
Eggs
Butter (for the spinach)
Mozzarella
Salt
Pepper

The amount of the ingredients have to fit in the form, obviously, and the proportion of the ingredients may vary from person to person, day to day.

I started with the veggies, and parboiled the asparagus and broccoli in salted water.
I heated the spinach with butter and let most of the bubbling water evaporate.
Then I spread the veggies over the crust.

I bought a piece of bacon and sliced and diced it. Quickly stir-fried with a chopped champignon, and put that in as well (see fig.1)

IMG_6151Fig. 1

Then I sprinkled the whole thing with mozzarella (fig. 2)
IMG_6152Fig. 2

Mix egg, water, salt and pepper. 1 table spoon of water per egg. I use the Tupperware Classique Shaker for this task. Absolutely perfect every time.
I needed 5 eggs and 5 tablespoons of water to fill the whole shebang (fig. 3)
IMG_6153Fig. 3
Then it goes in the oven, and bake for approximately 35-40 minutes
IMG_6154
Out of the oven.
IMG_6155
Ready to eat.
IMG_6157
I surprised myself. This was absolutely plain sailing, and it tastes (and looks) good.
The ingredients themselves are full of flavour, and needs very little extra seasoning. Unless you want to, of course.
I might have been a bit tough on the salt this time, and I really don’t know how salty the bacon was. Never tasted it.
But over all, a pleasant thing to add to my recipe list.
Leave a Reply

EWIAN

Independent audiovideo artist

Discovering Ministry

A Ministry Journal

Teampalldayy's Blog

Fel Free to enjoy

Pernille Nylehns blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

--- Grumpy Comments ---

TEDIOUS COMPLAINTS AND PETTY GRIEVANCES

dampsquid

sorry... what?

Simply Writing

...a little something floating around in my head...

My Sphere of Madness

This is where I empty my brain. Read, or don't. I'll leave that up to you.

