The enchanted world of fairytales


image

I love fairytales. In fact, I love anything written that had a sting to it. I’ve always loved it. As a kid, I borrowed scary books at the library, read them at the dead of night and was doing quite a lot of running from monsters in my sleep.

Some fairytales are more scary than others. Disney’s rendering of fairytales is not canon fairytales. They are the polished fluffy-pink-unicorn-version of fairytales.

Real fairytales have a certain seriousness and edge to them. Probably because they’re meant to be educational at some level.

I’ve been reading this book of fairytales from different parts of the world, and I came across a poem (or whatever you will call it) I had sort of forgotten. I don’t think it is political correct today. It might frighten children to eat their soup. And we all know that’s bad, don’t we?

image

When did children become so sensitive?

Leave a Reply

EWIAN

Independent audiovideo artist

Discovering Ministry

A Ministry Journal

Teampalldayy's Blog

Fel Free to enjoy

Pernille Nylehns blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

KatrinaLabra

Of Something, Something and Something

--- Grumpy Comments ---

TEDIOUS COMPLAINTS AND PETTY GRIEVANCES

dampsquid

sorry... what?

Simply Writing

...a little something floating around in my head...

My Sphere of Madness

This is where I empty my brain. Read, or don't. I'll leave that up to you.

